Basilicale Architektur

Die Kirche ist eine zeitgenössische Architektur Ausdruck einer alten Basilika Form, zuerst von den Römern genutzt, und später von den frühesten Christen übernommen, reflecting both the Gemeinschaft von Jesus’s ecumenical vision, und seine monastische Identität. Seine Form und Design wunderschön nimmt die Verehrung, die stattfindet, in ihm - sowohl die tägliche Feier der Eucharistie, und das Stundengebet. Die starke Längs-Layout, die Säulen und Bögen flankieren die zentrale Pfad, die zentrale Dachbinder, und die Apsis, dass Umschläge und zeigt der Altar, Alle unterstreichen den Altar die Bedeutung, und geben gerichtete Bewegung zum Heiligtum. Antiphonal Sitz ermöglicht das Singen des psalmody. Die einzigartige Anordnung der Organkammern in den Seitenschiffen ermöglicht die Orgel in der Kirche zu sprechen.

Neun andere Gebäude umschließen den klösterlichen Zentrum. Eine gemeinsame oder grün organisiert Treffen und Bewegung wie eine Stadt in New England gemeinsamen. Die Kirche, Chapter House und Glockenturm sind von Minnesota Kalkstein gebaut, evoziert Dauerhaftigkeit und den Sand der Cape Cod. Unterstützung Gebäude sind weiß New England clapboard und Kies.

For information about a guided tour of the Church please visit http://www.churchofthetransfiguration.org/tour

William RawnWilliam Rawn Associates, Boston, MA

William Rawn hat als Principal für Design für die Kirche der Verklärung serviert, Orleans, Massachusetts und das architektonische Gesamtkonzept Masterplan für die Gemeinschaft Jesu. Er ist Gründer und Direktor der William Rawn Associates, Architects, Inc., in Boston, eine Firma, die einen internationalen Ruf für eine breite Palette von Design-Projekten entwickelt hat, von Musik und Theater Gebäude Colleges und komplexen städtischen Gebäuden. Das Unternehmen hat sieben nationale American Institute of Architects Honor Awards in den vergangenen elf Jahren gewann, und 56 city, Zustand, und regionale AIA Awards. Herr. Rawn Entwurf für das Galvin Familie Kapelle am Babson College wurde vorgestellt Architektur für die Götter, Aktuelle Religiöse Architektur in Amerika (1999) von Michael J. Crosbie. Wichtige letzten Projekten gehören das 1200-Sitz Seiji Ozawa Hall für das Boston Symphony Orchestra in Tanglewood, vor kurzem als 13. beste Konzertsaal der Welt zählt (Le eigenen, Konzertsäle und Opernhäuser). Wichtige aktuelle und aktuellen Projekten gehören die US Courthouse in Cedar Rapids, Temple Beth Elohim (Wellesley, MA), UMBC Performing Arts and Humanities Einrichtung (Baltimore, MD), und der University of Virginia Band Rehearsal Halle.

G. Thomas Ryan Liturgische Consultant: G. Thomas Ryan Orleans, MA

Als pastorale liturgist, Tom Ryan diente als Berater für Liturgie, Architektur und liturgische Kunst für die Kirche der Verklärung. Er hat als Direktor des Center for Pastoral Liturgie an der Catholic University of America in Washington DC diente, Koordinator des liturgischen Architektur für die Erzdiözese Boston, und Liturgen für die Kathedrale des Heiligen Kreuzes, Boston. Tom ist international bekannt für seine Schriften bekannt, einschließlich Die Sakristei Manuelle - Die definitive Leitfaden für alle englischsprachigen und spanischsprachigen Ländern, und Die St. Andrew Bibel Missal. Seit seinem Umzug nach Cape Cod in 1991, Tom diente auch als Bauberater und Liturgen für die neue Pfarrkirche in Corpus Christi, Sandwich. Er ist auf dem Board of Directors der Cape Cod Rat der Kirchen, und Koordinator des Barnstable County Human Rights Commission.

Basilican Architecture

The church’s architecture is a contemporary expression of an ancient basilican form, first used by the Romans, and later adopted by the earliest Christians, reflecting both the Community of Jesus’s ecumenical vision, and its monastic identity. Its shape and design beautifully accommodates the worship that takes place within it – both the daily celebration of Eucharist, and the Liturgy of the Hours. The strong longitudinal layout, the columns and arches flanking the central path, the central roof trusses, and the apse that envelopes and displays the altar, all underscore the altar’s significance, and give directional movement to the sanctuary. Antiphonal seating allows for chanting the psalmody. The unique placement of the organ chambers in the side aisles allows the organ to speak throughout the church.

Nine other buildings encircle the monastic center. A common or green organizes gathering and movement like a New England town common. The Church, Chapter House and Bell Tower are constructed of Minnesota limestone, evoking permanence and the sands of Cape Cod. Support buildings are white New England clapboard and shingle.

For information about a guided tour of the Church please visit http://www.churchofthetransfiguration.org/tour

 

William RawnWilliam Rawn Associates,  Boston, MA

William Rawn has served as Principal for Design for the Church of the Transfiguration, Orleans, Massachusetts and the overall architectural master plan for the Community of Jesus. He is the founding principal of William Rawn Associates, Architects, Inc., in Boston, a firm that has developed an international reputation for a broad range of design projects, from music and theater buildings to college campuses and complex urban buildings. The firm has won seven national American Institute of Architects Honor Awards in the past eleven years, and fifty-six city, state, and regional AIA Awards. Mr. Rawn’s design for the Galvin Family Chapel at Babson College was featured in Architecture for the Gods, Recent Religious Architecture in the Americas (1999) by Michael J. Crosbie. Major past projects include the 1200-seat Seiji Ozawa Hall for the Boston Symphony Orchestra at Tanglewood, recently ranked as the 13th best concert hall in the world (Le Berenek, Concert Halls and Opera Houses). Major current and recent projects include the US Courthouse at Cedar Rapids, Temple Beth Elohim (Wellesley, MA), UMBC Performing Arts and Humanities Facility (Baltimore, MD), and University of Virginia Band Rehearsal Hall.

G. Thomas Ryan Liturgical Consultant: G. Thomas Ryan Orleans, MA

As a pastoral liturgist, Tom Ryan served as the consultant on liturgy, architecture and liturgical art for the Church of the Transfiguration. He has served as the Director of the Center for Pastoral Liturgy at The Catholic University of America in Washington DC, coordinator of Liturgical Architecture for the Archdiocese of Boston, and liturgist for the Cathedral of the Holy Cross, Boston. Tom is internationally known for his writings, including The Sacristy Manual – the definitive guide for all English-speaking and Spanish-speaking countries, and The St. Andrew’s Bible Missal. Since moving to Cape Cod in 1991, Tom also served as building consultant and liturgist for the new parish church at Corpus Christi, Sandwich. He is on the Board of Directors of the Cape Cod Council of Churches, and Coordinator of the Barnstable County Human Rights Commission.