Art, Vérité, et beauté

L'église de la Transfiguration porte l'empreinte des artistes dont l'expérience et les compétences sont imprimées sur la vision qu'ils ont aidé à traduire dans la réalité. De la conception des installations réalisées, les artistes ont travaillé en étroite collaboration avec le Comité de liturgie, forger une convergence créative respectant à la fois l'artiste et le plan.

Les artistes devaient comprendre les implications spirituelles et les dimensions des images qu'ils ont dépeignant, à la fois comme instruments d'enseignement et comme l'expression de la foi et la vie de la Communauté. They had to know the canons of liturgical art and know what was needed for liturgy and congregational participation.

Ils devaient être maîtres artistes, la création de leur art avec les matériaux les plus authentiques et avec une superbe facture. Ils devaient suivre le programme iconographique indiqué dans le plan directeur, and they had to be willing to teach and train Community members their specialized skills and collaborate with other artists to achieve a richly integrated iconographic program that included pierre, bronze, verre, mosaïque, et frais.

Plus de deux douzaines de membres de la communauté de Jésus ont travaillé aux côtés des artistes professionnels, étudier avec les maîtres et de plus en plus en profondeur et l'étendue de leur compréhension et de l'expression artistique. Les guildes dans les médias de la fresque, mosaïque, sculpture sur pierre et le renforcement des organes ont été formés pour aider à la fabrication et à la collaboration. membres de la communauté ont également collaboré avec des artistes professionnels, la création des dessins et des dessins pour une partie de l'art dans l'église, en particulier les chapiteaux de l'église, atrium, et le cloître; le linteau extérieur; et la conception et les dessins de la chaussée mosaïque du sanctuaire, pour n'en nommer que quelques-uns.

Art, Truth, and Beauty

The Church of the Transfiguration bears the imprint of artists whose experience and skills are imprinted on the vision they helped translate into reality. From design concept to completed installations, the artists worked closely with the Liturgy Committee, forging a creative convergence respecting both the artist and the plan.

The artists had to understand the spiritual implications and dimensions of the images they were depicting, both as instruments of teaching and as expressions of the Community’s faith and life. They had to know the canons of liturgical art and know what was needed for liturgy and congregational participation.

They had to be master artists, creating their art with the most authentic materials and with superb craftsmanship. They had to follow the iconographic program outlined in the master plan, and they had to be willing to teach and train Community members their specialized skills and collaborate with other artists to achieve a richly integrated iconographic program that included stone, bronze, glass, mosaic, and fresco.

More than two dozen members of the Community of Jesus worked alongside the professional artists, studying with the masters and growing in depth and breadth of their artistic understanding and expression. Guilds in the media of fresco, mosaic, stone carving and organ building were formed to assist with fabrication and collaboration. Community members also collaborated with the professional artists, creating the designs and drawings for some of the art in the church, specifically the column capitals in the church, atrium, and cloister; the exterior lintel; and the design and drawings for the sanctuary floor mosaic, to name a few.