Une brève histoire de la naissance de cet orgue

Le lundi, Peut 15, 1995, à 10:56 après-midi, un fax de Nelson Barden (Président, Nelson Barden & Associés, restaurateur en résidence, Université de Boston) arrivé au bureau de musique de l'église de la Transfiguration. Ce n'était pas juste un autre fax. Ce document était en réponse à la première visite de Nelson à la Communauté de Jésus pour rencontrer le supérieur, Mère Betty Pugsley, au cours de laquelle ils ont discuté de la vision, avoir besoin, portée, et raison d'un organe d'une profondeur incroyable, proportion, beauté, et à l'échelle qui soutiendraient le culte à la Communauté de Jésus et son rayonnement musical de renommée mondiale.

Nelson réalisa instantanément ce qu'elle disait, et tous deux ont convenu que « au-dessus de toutes les autres considérations, cet organe doit sans compromis jaillir de sa vision spirituelle et artistique jusqu'à ce que cette vision devienne réalité.

À cette fin, la spécification de l'orgue, disposition géographique, et la conception globale ont été inspirées et motivées par le ministère et la mission de Gloriæ Dei Cantores (la chorale professionnelle résidente à la Communauté de Jésus) ainsi que le chant enthousiaste de la communauté. Les chanteurs interprètent un répertoire de plus de 30 nationalités, du chant grégorien à la musique d'aujourd'hui - un défi pour tout orgue à soutenir, vu le nombre de genres que cela comprend.

Avant de rencontrer Nelson, nous nous étions engagés pour la restauration d'un E.M. Orgue Skinner pour l'église de la Transfiguration, connaître sa beauté innée et sa flexibilité. En réalité, nous avions déjà acheté, et avait en stock, Skinner Non. 762 de l'église presbytérienne de Munn Avenue à East Orange, New Jersey. On s'est vite rendu compte, cependant, que cet instrument ne suffirait pas à lui seul et, au lieu, devrait devenir la base de quelque chose de beaucoup plus vaste et avec un impact plus important. Afin de réaliser sa vision et sa charge d'unir l'orgue à la forme basilique de l'église, Nelson a dit, "son surround".

Pour cette installation, Je suggère la rotation du placement traditionnel d'orgue est-ouest 90 degrés au nord-sud et en étirant complètement l'instrument le long de la nef en balcons sur les deux bas-côtés. Les divisions commenceraient près du choeur (au-dessus des sièges du choeur) avec la houle et le choeur sur les côtés opposés. Ceux-ci seraient suivis d'un grand exposé et d'un grand fermé (dont quelques pédales) pour élargir le ton et le faire descendre dans la nef. La prochaine étape consisterait à faire correspondre les divisions Solo nord et sud, suivi de l'Orchestre Nord et Sud. Ces divisions appariées contiendraient des voix similaires mais distinctes. Ces quatre divisions assorties formeraient la section « mélodie en mouvement ». Près de l'extrémité ouest serait Bombarde/Antiphonal en face de l'Echo. Les stores de ces divisions ne s'ouvriraient pas directement vers la congrégation mais projetteraient le son vers le mur du fond. Cela modulerait les poids lourds de la Bombarde et permettrait à l'Echo de faire un « acte de disparition » tonal. Les effets directionnels et surround obtenus par le contrôle informatique des jeux et des nuances élèveraient l'instrument au-delà de l'état de l'art dans un domaine unique. La mélodie en mouvement pourrait s'étendre librement sur le bâtiment de gauche à droite et d'avant en arrière. Un seul accord pianissimo du choeur pourrait se transformer en une puissante vague de sons, rouler sur toute la longueur de la nef, cascade dans l'Echo et disparait.

Au cours de nombreuses années, il s'en est suivi des centaines de discussions sur les nombreux détails nécessaires pour arriver à une telle conclusion. (La spécification à elle seule a traversé plus de 150 révisions.) Seulement deux semaines après le premier fax est arrivé le prochain fax « prophétique » qui révélerait bientôt la plate-forme sur laquelle nous collaborerions pendant plus de deux décennies et demie..

En plus du précepte premier de toujours maintenir la vision spirituelle et artistique, deux autres points significatifs ont été développés à partir de ce deuxième échange:

  • Encourager les membres de la Communauté de Jésus intéressés par les apprentis dans le domaine de la facture d'orgues à agir comme de bons intendants à la fois dans la construction et l'entretien futur de cet instrument.
  • Laisser le projet prendre le temps nécessaire à l'orgue pour « apprendre et nous dire » comment il doit grandir et se transformer à travers des expériences variées.

D'un commun accord enthousiaste, nous avons passé en revue les concepts énoncés dans le 15 document, dans lequel Nelson a dit que l'orgue devrait être

  1. De classe mondiale et unique
  2. Idéalement adapté à vos besoins
  3. Une expression tangible des principes spirituels de la Communauté de Jésus
  4. Beau et musical, avec un ton immédiatement reconnaissable
  5. Conçu pour la postérité; construit pour durer éternellement
  6. Capable d'interpréter de manière authentique la musique du XIXe siècle et le Bach du XVIIIe siècle de manière convaincante
  7. Capable de susciter des émotions profondes
  8. Conçu pour les enregistrements HDCD (!)
  9. Axé sur les développements futurs, pas la technologie actuelle
  10. Un « faiseur de tendances »

Ces points de discussion se sont rapidement transformés en

  1. Adopter la vision
  2. Prendre l'engagement d'aller de l'avant
  3. Intégrer l'espace de l'orgue dans la conception de l'église
  4. Affiner la vision, le façonner selon nos besoins précis
  5. Définir le système mécanique de l'orgue
  6. Élaboration d'un plan d'action et d'un budget réaliste
  7. Localisation d'un magasin et d'un espace de stockage
  8. Début de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action
  9. Former les travailleurs à temps partiel et développer leur expertise
  10. Acquérir plus de composants à restaurer
  11. Organisation et démarrage des travaux de restauration
  12. Mettre en place une division et la jouer pour l'inspiration

Avance rapide jusqu'à l'été de 2021, et nous regardons en arrière pour voir que la disposition originale de la division de Nelson, avec quelques changements de nomenclature, est devenu réalité.

Disposition:

ABSIDE
CHOIR HOULE
Grand Nord (ET PÉDALE) GRAND SUD (ET PÉDALE)
SOLO (ET PÉDALE) CHAÎNE DE CARACTÈRES (ET PÉDALE)
ANTIPHONAL/PROCESSIONNEL ÉCHO
EXTREMITE OUEST

Nous avons eu la chance de trouver des instruments disponibles à l'achat qui, ensemble, créé une « joyeuse genèse musicale ». Ci-dessous une liste partielle des orgues Skinner dont les composants constituent ce « nouvel » instrument:

Needs a context. 140 Cathédrale épiscopale de la Trinité, Cleveland, Ohio
Needs a context. 195 Collège Williams, Williamstown, Masse.
Needs a context. 310 Église de Plymouth, Shaker Heights, Ohio
Needs a context. 473 Université d'État de Floride, Tallahassee, Floride.
Needs a context. 540 St. Paul Église luthérienne, Williamsport, bien.
Needs a context. 541 Première église congrégationaliste, St. Pétersbourg, Floride.
Needs a context. 655 St. Église épiscopale de Saint-Paul, Rochester, NEW YORK.
Needs a context. 656 université de Princeton, Princeton, N.J.
Needs a context. 762 Église presbytérienne de l'avenue Munn, East Orange, N.J.
Needs a context. 855 Église catholique du Sacré-Cœur, Pittsburgh, bien.
Needs a context. 858 Collège Rollins, Parc d'hiver, Floride.
Needs a context. 934 St. Collège Joseph, Adrien, Moi.
Needs a context. 991 Broadway Tabernacle, New York, NEW YORK.
Needs a context. 1242 Première église baptiste, Abilene, Texas.

Nelson et la Communauté de Jésus ont maintenu un programme d'apprentissage de la facture d'orgues au cours de ces nombreuses années, avoir formé un de nos membres au statut de compagnon (au cours de 20 années), et quatre autres en situation de stage pluriannuel. Pendant ce temps, la construction et l'installation ont vraiment suivi le concept initial de Nelson - division par division. C'est ce qui a permis à l'orgue de nous "apprendre". Voici quelques autres dates importantes dans l'histoire de cet orgue:

Juin 2000 Dédicace de l'église de la Transfiguration (Nord Grand, Grossir, et Tuba Mirabilis)

Juin 2003 La série Great Artist commence avec la convention AGO Régions I et II mettant en vedette Thomas

Murray (Division chorale)

Juin 2005 Cinquième anniversaire de l'Église de la Transfiguration (Divisions antiphoniques/processionnelles)

Juin 2010 Dixième anniversaire de l'église de la Transfiguration (Division Echo et arrivée de la console ouest pour les récitals de Gerre et et Judith Hancock et Thomas Murray)

L'été 2018 32′ Bombarde installed on south side

L'été 2019 Enlèvement de 1929 console et retour de la console ouest recâblée servant de console principale temporaire

Février 2020 Arrivée de la console permanente

Notre nouvelle console a été conçue, construit, et installé par Richard Houghten et Joseph Zamberlan. À partir de 2000 à 2020, nous avions utilisé l'EM d'origine. Console Skinner de Non. 762, lequel, par 2020, nous avions depuis longtemps dépassé. Nous avons conçu la nouvelle console pour qu'elle soit aussi confortable qu'un Skinner, avec tout clairement identifié et à portée de main. Les caractéristiques spéciales incluent des diapositives de pouce d'expression d'ombre sous les trois claviers inférieurs, une matrice d'expression afin que n'importe laquelle des divisions puisse être affectée à une pédale de swell spécifique (l'organe entier est en cours d'expression), et claviers ivoire (avec E.M.. La « touche tracker » de Skinner) du Non. 762 console. Certains coupleurs inhabituels tels que Pedal to Manual sont inclus.

Les réalisations les plus émouvantes sont peut-être les perspectives visionnaires de la façon dont cet organe affecterait les gens alors qu'ils l'écoutaient et l'expérimentaient dans le cadre de l'église de la Transfiguration.. En concluant ses premières réflexions à notre égard en mai 1995, Nelson a écrit ceci pour nous encourager à assumer cela:

Le but ultime

Chaque église est une expression des bâtisseurs, et ainsi est chaque organe. Quand cet instrument est fini, Les membres de la communauté sentiront qu'ils font partie de l'organe, et l'orgue en fait partie. Il donnera une voix à leurs aspirations et résonnera d'un sens profond.

Construire un instrument magnifique est un travail difficile, parfois fastidieux et toujours prolongé. Les non-professionnels peuvent se décourager, tout comme les facteurs d'orgues quand le travail s'éternise. La différence est que les facteurs d'orgues ont une vision qui leur donne une énergie et une foi illimitées. Ils connaissent le résultat final et imaginent comment ça sonne.

Les membres de la communauté comprendront tout lorsque leur travail prendra vie et que l'orgue commencera à jouer. Bois et cuir, fil et vent - si un orgue à tuyaux peut chanter avec les anges, n'y a-t-il pas d'espoir pour nous tous?

La liste des personnes à remercier est tout simplement interminable à ce stade, mais voici les noms de ceux sans qui cet organe n'existerait pas.

Jean Ananda
Jonathan Ambrosino
Nelson Barden
Chris Broome
Dave Broome
David Craighead
James Hudson Crissman
Guillaume Czelusniak
Gerre Hancock
Richard Houghten
Thomas Murray
Sean O'Donnell
Duane avril
Mère Betty Pugsley
Joseph Rotella
Peter Rudewicz
Joseph Sloan
Joseph Zamberlan† deceased

— Nelson Barden and Jim Jordan

Si nous adoptons tous une nouvelle vision, des conseils et un soutien spéciaux viendront sûrement.
–NELSON BARDEN

A Brief History of how this Organ came to be

On Monday, May 15, 1995, at 10:56 p.m., a fax from Nelson Barden (president, Nelson Barden & Associates, restorer in residence, Boston University) arrived in the music office at the Church of the Transfiguration. This was not just another fax. This document was in response to Nelson’s first visit to the Community of Jesus to meet with the superior, Mother Betty Pugsley, during which they discussed the vision, need, scope, and reason for an organ of incredible depth, proportion, beauty, and scale that would support the worship at the Community of Jesus and its world-renowned music outreach.

Nelson realized instantly what she was saying, and both agreed that “above all other considerations, this organ must uncompromisingly spring from its spiritual and artistic vision until that vision becomes reality.”

To that end, the organ’s specification, geographic layout, and overall design were inspired and motivated by the ministry and mission of Gloriæ Dei Cantores (the resident professional choir at the Community of Jesus) as well as the community’s enthusiastic hymn singing. Gloriæ Dei Cantores performs repertoire of more than 30 nationalities, from Gregorian chant to music of the present day—a challenge for any organ to support, given the number of genres this includes.

Before meeting Nelson, we had committed to the restoration of an E.M. Skinner organ for the Church of the Transfiguration, knowing its innate beauty and flexibility. In fact, we had already purchased, and had in storage, Skinner No. 762 from the Munn Avenue Presbyterian Church in East Orange, New Jersey. We soon realized, however, that this instrument would not be enough on its own and, instead, would need to become the basis for something far larger and with greater impact. In order to fulfill his vision and charge to unite the organ with the basilica form of the church, Nelson said, “surround sound”.

For this installation, I suggest rotating the traditional east-west organ placement 90 degrees to north-south and stretching the instrument completely down the nave in balconies over both side aisles. The divisions would start near the chancel (above the choir seating) with the Swell and Choir on opposite sides. These would be followed by an exposed Great and an enclosed Great (including some Pedal) to broaden the tone and bring it down the nave. Next would be matching north and south Solo divisions, followed by North and South Orchestral. These paired divisions would contain similar but distinct voices. These four matched divisions would form the “moving melody” section. Near the west end would be Bombarde/Antiphonal opposite the Echo. The shades of these divisions would not open directly toward the congregation but project the sound toward the back wall. This would modulate the heavy hitters in the Bombarde and allow the Echo to do a tonal “disappearing act.” The directional and surround effects achieved by computer control of stops and shades would lift the instrument beyond state-of-the-art into a unique realm. Moving melody could range freely over the building from left to right and front to back. A single pianissimo chord from the chancel could grow into a mighty wave of sound, roll down the entire length of the nave, cascade into the Echo and disappear.

Over the course of many years, there ensued hundreds of discussions about the many specifics needed to arrive at such a conclusion. (The specification alone has been through more than 150 revisions.) Only two weeks after the first fax came the next “prophetic” fax that would soon reveal the platform upon which we would collaborate for more than two and a half decades.

In addition to the primary precept of always maintaining the spiritual and artistic vision, two other significant points were developed from this second exchange:

  • Encourage apprentice-interested Community of Jesus members into the organbuilding field to act as good stewards in both the construction and future care of this instrument.
  • Let the project take the time required for the organ to “teach and tell us” how it should grow and be transformed through varied experiences.

Upon mutually enthusiastic agreement, we reviewed the concepts set forth in the May 15 document, in which Nelson said the organ should be

  1. World-class and unique
  2. Ideally suited to your purposes
  3. A tangible expression of Community of Jesus spiritual principles
  4. Beautiful and musical, with instantly recognizable tone
  5. Designed for posterity; built to last forever
  6. Able to perform 19th-century music authentically and 18th-century Bach convincingly
  7. Capable of eliciting profound emotions
  8. Designed for HDCD recordings (!)
  9. Focused on future developments, not current technology
  10. A “trendsetter”

These discussion points quickly converted into

  1. Adopting the vision
  2. Making the commitment to move forward
  3. Incorporating the organ space into the church design
  4. Refining the vision, shaping it to our precise needs
  5. Defining the mechanical system of the organ
  6. Developing a plan of action and a realistic budget
  7. Locating a shop and storage space
  8. Beginning to implement the plan of action
  9. Training part-time workers and developing their expertise
  10. Acquiring more component parts to restore
  11. Organizing and commencing restoration work
  12. Setting up a division and playing it for inspiration

Fast-forward to the summer of 2021, and we look back to see that Nelson’s original division layout, with some changes in nomenclature, has come true.

Disposition:

APSE
CHOIR SWELL
NORTH GREAT (AND PEDAL) SOUTH GREAT (AND PEDAL)
SOLO (AND PEDAL) STRING (AND PEDAL)
ANTIPHONAL/PROCESSIONAL ECHO
WEST END

We were extremely fortunate to find instruments available for purchase that, together, created a “joyful musical genesis.” Below is a partial list of the Skinner organs whose components constitute this “new” instrument:

No. 140 Trinity Episcopal Cathedral, Cleveland, Ohio
No. 195 Williams College, Williamstown, Mass.
No. 310 Plymouth Church, Shaker Heights, Ohio
No. 473 Florida State University, Tallahassee, Fla.
No. 540 St. Paul’s Lutheran Church, Williamsport, Pa.
No. 541 First Congregational Church, St. Petersburg, Fla.
No. 655 St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, Rochester, N.Y.
No. 656 Princeton University, Princeton, N.J.
No. 762 Munn Avenue Presbyterian Church, East Orange, N.J.
No. 855 Sacred Heart Catholic Church, Pittsburgh, Pa.
No. 858 Rollins College, Winter Park, Fla.
No. 934 St. Joseph’s College, Adrian, Mich.
No. 991 Broadway Tabernacle, New York, N.Y.
No. 1242 First Baptist Church, Abilene, Tex.

Nelson and the Community of Jesus have maintained an organbuilding apprenticeship program through these many years, having trained one of our members to journeyman status (during the course of 20 years), and four others in multiyear work-training situations. During this time, the construction and installation truly followed Nelson’s initial concept—division by division. This is what allowed the organ to “teach” us. Below are some other significant dates in the history of this organ:

June 2000 Dedication of the Church of the Transfiguration (North Great, Swell, and Tuba Mirabilis)

June 2003 Great Artist series begins with AGO Regions I and II convention featuring Thomas

Murray (Choir division)

June 2005 Fifth anniversary of the Church of the Transfiguration (Antiphonal/Processional divisions)

June 2010 Tenth anniversary of the Church of the Transfiguration (Echo division and arrival of the west-end console for recitals by Gerre and and Judith Hancock and Thomas Murray)

Summer 2018 32′ Bombarde installed on south side

Summer 2019 Removal of 1929 console and return of the rewired west-end console serving as temporary main console

February 2020 Arrival of the permanent console

Our new console was designed, constructed, and installed by Richard Houghten and Joseph Zamberlan. From 2000 to 2020, we had used the original E.M. Skinner console from No. 762, which, by 2020, we had long outgrown. We designed the new console to be as comfortable as a Skinner, with everything clearly identified and within reach. Special features include shade expression thumb slides underneath the bottom three keyboards, an expression matrix so that any of the divisions can be assigned to a specific swell pedal (the entire organ is under expression), and ivory keyboards (with E.M. Skinner’s “tracker touch”) from the No. 762 console. Some unusual couplers such as Pedal to Manual are included.

Perhaps the most moving realizations are the visionary outlooks of how this organ would affect people as they listened and experienced it in the setting of the Church of the Transfiguration. In concluding his initial thoughts to us in May 1995, Nelson wrote this to encourage us to take this on:

The Ultimate Goal

Every church is an expression of the builders, and so is every organ. When this instrument is finished, Community members will feel they are a part of the organ, and the organ is part of them. It will give voice to their aspirations and resonate with deep-seated meaning.

Building a magnificent instrument is hard work, sometimes tedious and always prolonged. Nonprofessionals may become discouraged, just as organbuilders are when the job drags on. The difference is that organbuilders hold a vision that gives them boundless energy and faith. They know the end result and imagine how it sounds.

Community members will understand everything when their labor comes to life and the organ starts to play. Lumber and leather, wire and wind—if a pipe organ can sing with the angels, isn’t there hope for us all?

The list of people to thank is simply endless at this point, but here are names of those without whom this organ would not exist.

John Ananda
Jonathan Ambrosino
Nelson Barden
Chris Broome
† Dave Broome
† David Craighead
James Hudson Crissman
William Czelusniak
† Gerre Hancock
Richard Houghten
Thomas Murray
Sean O’Donnell
Duane Prill
Mother Betty Pugsley
Joseph Rotella
Peter Rudewicz
Joseph Sloan
Joseph Zamberlan

† deceased

A complete specification as well as other Skinner instrument numbers are available at CommunityofJesus.org.

— Nelson Barden and Jim Jordan

If we all embrace a new vision, special guidance and support will surely come.
–NELSON BARDEN